Pending Updates on Initial Review or "Item removed" When Attempting to Publish New Review Revision

Erik Haake
Erik Haake
  • Updated

Published DateJuly 25, 2025
Audience: Everyone
Products and Versions Covered: 

  • Jama Connect® All Versions
    • Cloud/CVC
    • Self-hosted

Summary

As a review moderator, if the "pending updates" icon is displayed on an initial (v1) version of a review or if when attempting to publish a new revision, one or more items display "Item removed", then most likely the reason is that you do not have write access to some or all items in the review.

Here is what you might see if you are a moderator with write access to only some of the items in the review:

In the above case, the pending updates is showing that the moderator has read-only access to 91 of the 93 items in the review. After clicking the "Publish new revision" button, here is what this moderator might see:

This indicates that 91 of the 93 items will be removed if this new revision is published, as the moderator only has write access to 2 of the 93 items.

Resolution

If creating a new revision without removing any items is desired and you cannot simply grant write access to all items in the review for all moderators, ensure that a moderator with write access to all items in the review creates the new revision. 

If a moderator with write access to some of the items creates a new revision, the revision will not contain the items that the moderator does not have write access to.

A moderator who does not have write access to any of the items in the review will not be able to create a new revision, since a review must contain at least one item and all of the items would be removed in the new revision.

Cause

As mentioned in the Jama help guide under important considerations:

Moderators can be added to a review regardless of their access rights to the items in the review. However, when a new revision for the review is published, it includes only items that moderators have write access to. This can have unexpected consequences for reviews sent from filters, such as missing or extra items in the new revision.

NOTE: If you encounter this behavior after updating a user license via the REST API, the permissions cache may not be refreshed correctly. After license reassignment, if a user is experiencing this behavior, the workaround is to login to the application as the root user and select 'Clear All Cache'

Alternatively, a programmatic workaround can be applied as follows:

## example logic
PUT /users/{id}           ## change license type
PUT /users/{id}/active    ## disable the user after changing their license type
PUT /users/{id}/active    ## re-enabled the user (triggering a refresh of the permissions cache)

Prevention

Ensure that moderators have write access to all items in a review.

Additional Resources 

Feedback:
We welcome your input! Please sign in to leave any comments, suggestions, or ideas for improvement below.

Was this article helpful?

0 out of 0 found this helpful

Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

0 comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.