Deleted Items are Visible in the UI

Jonathan Rivera
Jonathan Rivera
  • Updated

Author: Jonathan Rivera

Date: December 6, 2023

Audience:  Everyone

Environmental details: Self-hosted and Cloud

Summary: 

After deleting items, the items are still visible in the UI. Users may encounter some of the following situations:

  • Users cannot select an item from the Explorer Tree or within search or filter results, and are prompted with "This item has been deleted"
  • Users cannot select an item from the Explorer Tree or within search or filter results, and are prompted with "You don't have permission to perform this action"
  • The hierarchy sequence of the Explorer Tree is inconsistent with the List View
  • An item cannot be located in the Explorer Tree even though it can be seen in the List View
  • Batch deleted items remain in the Explorer Tree or show up in filter results

Solution:

  1. Perform a project cleanup as described here: https://help.jamasoftware.com/ah/en/administration/project-administrator/manage-projects/project-and-baseline-cleanup.html

Cause:

This is known to happen when creating a lot of items and deleting them, especially when other work is occurring at the same time. This is particularly prevalent when utilizing the API to do this work rapidly.

 

Prevention:

There is not a surefire way to prevent this, but we typically recommend to users to slow down the API work and perform checks along the way.

 

Related Articles, Work orders, Zendesk tickets, Defects, etc. 

Additional Information/Metadata:

  • API
  • Deleting items

Feedback: Please leave feedback in the comments below.

 

Was this article helpful?

0 out of 0 found this helpful

Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

0 comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.